#BookReview Kill the Balloons: Williamsburg in the Singles by Anthony Joseph Morrone

Featured imageFeatured imageKill the Balloons: Williamsburg in the Singles by Anthony Joseph Morrone is about one day in the life of a group of friends in Brooklyn, New York. The book is written in a way almost as if you are a fly on the wall observing everything. The characters are brutally honest and feel like real people. The book may be long but it is an easy read.

Kill the Balloons follows the lives of a group of friends who have one goal in common. That goal is to have fun and enjoy life. The story follows them as they all get ready to attend an art party. Each character is unique and has their own way of doing things. My favorite character was Pretty because she seemed the most level-headed to me. The main thing I enjoyed about Kill the Balloons is Morrone’s detailed descriptions of places and events that occurred in the book. His words painted me a very clear picture of what was happening in his story. I also enjoyed the photographs of locations and scenery that are at the beginning of each chapter. This gave the book an artsy feel to it which flows with the story nicely.

I admit Kill the Balloons is not for everyone. It does contain a lot of swearing, so if you do not mind that, then give it a try. I did find the story interesting, however I do wish that there was a little more description about the characters. I had trouble picturing what they looked like. If you enjoy the movies like Saturday Night Fever, then I recommend you read this book.Featured image

*I reviewed this book for Reader’s Favorite

I gave this book 4 stars and have posted my review on Reader’s Favorite and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

