#BookReview Ledbetter Street by Susan P. Baker

Featured imageFeatured imageLedbetter Street by Susan P. Baker is a story about friendships and family. The book is based around three characters: Marian, Eva and Jane. Marian is the main character who is fighting to get her adult autistic son back after giving him up for adoption as a baby. Eva is battling her own problems and trying to keep her life and business on track. Jane is a homeless woman just trying to survive on the streets. All three women are extremely likeable and their stories intertwine throughout the book. There is never a dull moment in the book.

I really liked that Baker touched on the subjects of autism and homelessness in Ledbetter Street. Not many books focus and raise awareness on multiple issues like that. Baker’s character Eva, gained my respect with how big her heart was and what she did for Jane in the story. I also liked how Baker explained how Jane came to be homeless. Every homeless person has a backstory, and by Baker telling Jane’s it makes me more curious about the homeless in my own neighborhood. I also liked that all of Baker’s lead characters are older women. Not the twenty-somethings that are usually the stars in the books nowadays.

Overall I liked Ledbetter Street and would recommend it to anyone who loves to read works of fiction. I think Susan P. Baker is a good author who keeps her readers entertained. I look forward to reading more of Baker’s works in the future. Featured imageI gave this book 5 stars and have posted my review on Reader’s favorite, Goodreads and Amazon.
* I reviewed this book for Reader’s Favorite

Leave a Reply

