#BookReview A Fearful Lie” by Jean Fournier Johnson

Featured imageFeatured imageI thought “A Fearful Lie” by Jean Fournier Johnson was going to be a predictable book with an ending that is all too common. Instead this book was hard to put down and nothing like I thought it would be. When Gloria accidently kills a little boy while driving, she tells no one. Instead she sets out to help the family of the little boy. The book follows how Gloria lives her life with the secret of her crime hovering over her. That lie changed her life and everyone around her.

I liked that Johnson wrote such a unique perspective on a crime. Usually when you hear about such a crime on the news, you automatically think negative thoughts. No one stops and thinks about what the criminal is actually thinking or going through in their life. “A Fearful Lie” makes me wonder how often this type of crime happens. At first I hated Gloria. I did not understand how she could have kept the secret. Reading on I grew to understand her and even like her. She made me want to better my life when I saw her changing hers.

“A Fearful Lie” is a powerful book that makes you think. If you accidentally committed a crime, how would you react? How would you live your life? Johnson has a gift for writing. Not many authors can tell such a powerful story that makes the readers think and root for the bad guy. I recommend this book to anyone that loves a good book.Featured image

I gave this book 5 stars because it was just WOW! My review is posted on Goodreads and Reader’s Favorite.

* I reviewed this book for Reader’s Favorite

Leave a Reply

