#BookReview Brookwood Road: Memories of a Home by Scott Douglas Vaughan

Featured imageFeatured imageBrookwood Road: Memories of a Home by Scott Douglas Vaughan is a collection of thirty-nine short stories inspired by Vaughan’s memories of growing up. Each story takes place on or around Brookwood Home, which is located in Georgia. As Vaughan states in the beginning of the book “Some stories are true. Some of these stories are based on truth. Some of these stories should have been true.” Each story is told through Frank’s eyes, and is unique and obviously told with a love and fondness for the area and people in it.

I chose Brookwood Road because I love to read about memoirs that occur in the South. Vaughan does not disappoint. Some of his stories are humorous and tell of easier times. Other stories just make you wish that you could have lived in those times and experience the same things that Frank did. The very first story in “Brookwood Road” was hilarious. When R.C. Wilcox, the grandfather, forced the hired help to sing upon his newborn grandson’s, named Frank, arrival home. My personal favorite story was “Tallywackers” which also happens to be my new favorite word.  The story was hilarious and occurred when it was still innocent to go skinny-dipping. The story “The Pink Store” had a good message in it that I wish more people would listen to. The story also loved Papa Paul’s advice, “Anytime you are stumped for an answer or find yourself worried about something, I recommend a Hershey chocolate bar.”

I am glad the promise was kept to Vaughan’s father and this book was named “Memories of a Home”.  I recommend this book to anyone who likes memoirs or stories from the South. Reading these stories made me long for my own small town that used to be and the days when a Coca-Cola used to be ten cents.

I gave this book 5 stars and have posted my review on Goodreads, Reader’s Favorite and Amazon.

Featured image* I reviewed this book for Reader’s Favorite.

Leave a Reply

