#BookReview Dark Pursuit by Jennifer Chase

Featured imageFeatured imageDark Pursuit is the fifth book by Jennifer Chase in the Emily Stone series. Dark Pursuit is an action packed book starting from the very first page. Emily Stone and Rick Lopez are on a race against time to stop a serial killer whose victims are children.

Dark Pursuit is the first book I have read in Chase’s series. If the others books in the series are as good as this one is, then they are all must reads. Dark Pursuit is made up of three parts. The first part starts with a car chase and Emily ends up seeing the results of an unspeakable crime committed by a serial killer. The second part is the tale of Emily’s police career and the events she witnessed to put her on the path of becoming a “phantom detective” who hunts serial killers. The third part of the book is the where Emily tries to find the Tick-Tock Killer and his next victim.

There were so many things that made Dark Pursuit a good book. I liked that while Emily and Rick are both partners and lovers, that their relationship was not the focus of the story. I also think that it is so wonderfully creepy that the Tick-Tock Killer communicates with his dead mother. I love how Chase made Emily Stone a strong female character who can take care of herself. I wish there were more female characters like that in books.

Reading Dark Pursuit is not recommended if you are about to go to bed. This book will give you an adrenaline rush that will keep you awake the whole night just trying to finish the book. I am now definitely a fan of Jennifer Chase and her Emily Stone series. I would like to read her other books in the series, just not before I am going to sleep.Featured image

I gave this book 5 stars. I recommend this book to anyone who like mysteries and action packed books. My review is posted on Reader’s Favorite, Amazon

*I received a copy of this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

