#BookReview Hush Hush by Laura Lippman

Featured imageFeatured imageI love a book that is filled with secrets and Hush Hush by Laura Lippman is exactly that! I received this book as an ARC and was pleasantly surprised by how good it is. The story focuses around Melisandre Harris Dawes, who was acquitted for killing her baby. When she decides to film a documentary years later about her case, someone starts sending her weird notes. She hires Tess Monaghan to investigate.

Hush Hush is the twelfth book in Lippman’s Tess Monaghan series. It also happens to be the first one I have read. Lippman’s character Tess Monaghan is a loveable “accidental detective”. I loved Tess’s sense of humor and the way she dealt with working while taking care of her daughter. I related to her and her problems trying to always set a good example for her daughter and wondering if she was a good mother. I was not sure what to feel for Melisandre. I went back and forth from sorrow, understanding and disdain. Those mixed feelings is exactly what Lippman was going for in this book and she achieved it. Like with every mystery book, I try to solve it before the end. This book had me second and third guessing myself. The ending was a little surprising and left me wanting to read the whole series just to see everything I have missed from the first books.

Laura Lippman has gained a fan in me. This is a good book for murder mystery lovers. My only regret is not discovering Lippman and her work sooner. I cannot wait to see what Tess will deal with next.

I have given this book 5 stars and have posted reviews on Goodreads, Amazon and The Reading Room.

Leave a Reply

