#BookReview Wounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption by Elizabeth Garrison

Featured imageFeatured imageWounds of the Father: A True Story of Child Abuse, Betrayal, and Redemption by Elizabeth Garrison is a brutally honest memoir. Garrison tells about her life of drugs and abuse as a teenager and how she finally overcame it.

I made the mistake of starting to read Wounds of the Father right before going to bed. Once I began it I did not want to put it down. Garrison does not sugar coat her feelings. What she writes is extremely honest and straight from the heart. Garrison was abused by her father and the abuse was ignored by her mother. I do not know how she is able to still have a relationship with her mother after this, but I have respect for her for doing so. Although Garrison’s story is more about her trying to destroy herself with drugs than the actual abuse she suffered, once you begin reading it you will know and understand why. For Garrison to finally get her life together was amazing and I can see her being an inspiration for others. I hope she has finally found the happiness that she truly deserves.

Wounds of the Father is a book that I will not forget. Garrison’s story touched my heart and has given me a better understanding of people in my own family. This is a book for anyone who is even remotely curious about drugs or has been abused. It is also a book that shows that change in one’s life is possible. I will definitely be recommending this book to people.

I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads and on Amazon. This is a very good read!

Leave a Reply

