#BookReview Ratham Creek by Marie F. Martin

Featured imageFeatured imageRatham Creek by Marie F. Martin is a drama filled book with some romance thrown in. The book focuses around Arianne Hollis, a widower, who tries to find peace living in the mountains of Montana. There she meets mountain man Ross Ferrell, whom she may have a second chance at love with as long as he can escape his overbearing family’s ways. This romance is trying to happen as a blood feud between the Hoffman’s,another mountain clan, and the Ferrell’s is occurring.

Ratham Creek is the second book I have read by Martin, the first being Harbored Secrets. Martin does not disappoint and once again has surprised me with all the secrets. Just when you think Martin has revealed them all another secret pops up. Granny the matriarch of the Ferrell clan reminded me of the Godfather calling all he shots in the family. She does not trust outsiders and the whole family looked to her for guidance. I loved how close the Ferrell clan was. It made me want to move to their mountain and beg for them to adopt me. The book really takes off towards the middle when a lot begins to happen all at once. This is where readers will have a hard time putting the book down. The ending was something I did not expect and I wish it would have ended differently. No matter, it is still a good book.

I liked this book. Mountain people have always had a reputation of being hillbillies and inbreds. Martin shows that just because it is a rumor does not mean it is true. You should take the time to get to know people before passing judgment. I recommend this book to anyone who loves romance and drama. I also look forward to reading Martin’s other novel, Maternal Harbor.

I gave this book 4 stars and have posted my review on Goodreads, The Reading Room and Amazon.

3 thoughts on “#BookReview Ratham Creek by Marie F. Martin

Leave a Reply

