#BookReview Crocodile Mothers Eat Their Young by Avi Morris

Featured imageCrocodile Mothers Eat Their Young by Avi Morris is a very powerful book. It was an eye opener about what some foster kids actually go through. The abuse that some of these kids suffer is terrible. I believe if more books were written about foster kids and their stories, it will help raise awareness.

“Crocodile Mothers Eat Their Young” is a work of fiction. Although sadly, many kids have actually experienced what happens in the story. The story is told through the foster father’s, Hal Allen, eyes. At times the reader experiences what the kids, Selena and Valentina go through. Morris gives his character Valentina, who the story focuses on, so much strength and courage. Valentina is a hero in this book and I wish that I could have even half the courage she has. The story did not end like I thought it would but similar to real life it rarely does.

This was a great book. From the first chapter I was hooked. The second chapter, where the story takes off, actually made me cry. As I have already mentioned, this is a work of fiction, but I had to remind myself that constantly throughout the story. What makes this such a great story is that it raises awareness for foster kids. Not only does the book tell what happens through the kids’ eyes, it also tells what the foster parents experience. I recommend this book to anyone who has ever considered becoming a foster parent. Hopefully this book will encourage more people to become foster parents.

I gave this book 5 stars on Amazon, Goodreads and Reader’s Favorite. I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

