#BookReview History of Street Cops: Gangs, Drugs, and Guns in the City of Chicago and Cabrini Green Snipers: Gangs, Drugs, and Guns in the City of Chicago by Greg Zito

Featured imageThe book History of Street Cops: Gangs, Drugs, and Guns in the City of Chicago and Cabrini Green Snipers by Greg Zito caught my eye and interest because it was about Chicago. I also love to read about people’s experiences in life. This book being about a cop’s life and experiences, I knew I would like it. I have also always in curious about what really went on in Cabrini Greens

Greg Zito tells about many of his adventures in “History of Street Cops”. I liked that Zito named where each incident that occurred took place. I live in Chicago so I have been near many of those same locations. I also like to see how the neighborhoods have changed since Zito has roamed the streets.  Putting pictures in the book is something I also really liked.

I honestly liked “History of Street Cops” but it needs some work. Zito repeats himself a lot. I think if the book was better organized, it would cut down a lot on the repeating. Zito says in the beginning of the book how he used to write his experiences down. This is the feeling the book gives, random thoughts and stories that are put together in no particular order. The way the book is written, it is as if you are sitting next to Zito listening to him talk. Not many people like this writing method but I do. I find it to feel more honest and believable.  There are some grammar errors but these errors make you connect with Zito more.

I have given this book 4 star on Reader’s Favorite, Amazon and Goodreads.

Featured image

Leave a Reply

