#BookReview Billy Joel by Fred Schruers

Just finished reading  Billy Joel by Fred Schruers. My review will be posted on Goodreads and Twitter. If the author would like the review posted anywhere else, please let me know. I gave the book 3 stars on Goodreads, which means I liked it Since Amazon’s rating is slightly different it received 4 stars which still means I like it.

Featured image

*I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway*
There was a lot of drama surrounding Billy Joel and it’s release, but Fred Schruers has done a good job of writing about the life of Billy Joel despite all of it. I admire all the time Schruers spent researching and collecting information on this book.
I grew up listening to Billy Joel’s songs with my dad. My personal favorite is “Uptown Girls”. I learned a lot about Billy Joel’s life from this book, such as Joel’s family escaped from Nazi Germany, but many died as well. Schruers named many of the chapters of the book after Joel’s songs, which I thought was rather clever. The book is also littered with pieces of Joel’s song lyrics. The meaning behind the songs is explained often because of an event that occurred in Joel’s life. The book also tells of Joel’s troubled life and failed romances. It goes to show that money cannot buy happiness.
After reading this book I can not say I like Billy Joel more but I still like his songs.

Leave a Reply

